Papers for 2021 Annual Consultative Meeting

Topic: Marathon ACM 2021
Time: Jul 14, 2021 19:30 London

Join Zoom Meeting

Meeting ID: 870 2595 0453
Passcode: 907735

Agenda MRC ACM Weds 14 Jul 2021

2021 ACM – Appendix A – Draft Minutes ACM 2020

2021 ACM – Appendix B – Chair Report

2021 ACM – Appendix C – MRC candidate profiles

2021 ACM – Appendix D 2019-20 Final Accounts

2021 ACM – Appendix D1 Treasurer’s Report

2021 ACM – Appendix E – BC Club Associate Membership changes

2021 ACM – Appendix F – Race Entry System

MRC – call for elections

The MRC will be holding elections for the role of Chair, and half of the places on the Committee, at the ACM in July.

People wishing to stand must be full members of British Canoeing, be proposed and seconded by other members, and inform the Secretary of their candidacy by 15th June 2021.

Standing as an elected member of the MRC is a great way to make a difference to our sport and be involved directly in how it is run. Committee members are expected to attend around 4 meetings per year, and to play an active role in the administration of the discipline in between meetings.

If you’d like to consider standing, please feel free to contact the Secretary, James Smythe, or the Chair, Stan Missen, or indeed any of the current Committee who will be pleased to give you more information.

Small Clubs Network

Alice Murphy of the SRC and Banbury CC is working to set up an ideas-sharing and support network for smaller racing clubs.

If your club would like to be involved, please contact Alice

Molly Green

From Kirton Kayaks:

It is with a heavy heart that we announce the sad passing of our beloved Grandma, Molly Green. She slipped away peacefully this morning in the presence of her close family.

Behind the scenes, Molly was the backbone of Kirton Kayaks. Alongside husband David Green, she contributed locally and nationally to canoe racing for almost 50-years. She was a great organiser and was involved in the early development of the sport when Marathon was called Long Distance and board meetings were held in living rooms. She was in charge of the award ceremonies at the very first World Championships and similarly, the prize giving at the Nottingham Sprint regattas around that time. She could turn her hand to any needlework and for years operated a sewing shop at the factory making quality spray decks, cags and bags.

She will be sadly missed by all that had the privilege of knowing her.

All of the Marathon Racing Committee are greatly saddened by Molly’s passing, and thinking of David and the family at this time. She was a great volunteer for our sport, but more importantly someone who truly cared for every member of our community. Of all the people you could meet at a canoe race, Molly could lift your spirits the highest. We will all miss her.

The Marathon Racing Committee

The Marathon Racing Committee exists to encourage club, regional, national and international marathon canoeing events.

The MRC committee comprises members elected by racing clubs at the Annual Consultative Meeting (usually held at the National Championships), and each member serves a two-year term (excepting the Chair who serves a one-year term). Its regulations can be downloaded here: MRC REGULATIONS AND ADMINISTRATION

The MRC meets several times a year. If you have any questions or issues to raise, please contact the Chairman or Secretary. Members for 2020-21 are as follows:-

Stan Missen (Chair), Bradford on Avon CC

Mick Nadal (Vice Chair, Rules, Regions Co-ordinator, Event Safety), Nottingham KC

James Smythe (Secretary, Chair of Selection Committee, Comms), Bishops Stortford CC

Siobhan Urquhart (Comms, Jnr Athlete Development), Banbury CC

Kat Wilson (Safeguarding, Selection Committee, Snr Athlete Development), Reading CC

David Enoch (Treasurer, Selection Committee), Nottingham KC

Bryn Price (Masters racing), Maidstone CC

Roland Lawler (Rankings, Selection Committee)

Dyson Pendle (Selection Committee, Intl Kit)

Graham Warland (Intl Logistics, Calendar, Race Records, Race Organiser Liaison), Banbury CC

David Sackman (Race software, Intl Logistics), Reading CC

Evan Shephard (roles tbc), Reading CC

Holly Mobbs (roles tbc), Wey KC

Co-opted members

Scott Hynds (Coaching), Elmbridge CC

Nanette North (Junior Development), Cambridge CC

Dan Seaford (Major Events), Reading CC

MRC Communications

As many of you will have heard, James Smythe is currently unwell and starting a long course of chemotherapy which will see him unable to continue to act as our secretary until further notice.  Please therefore address all MRC business emails to the official MRC Secretary email address  ( ) rather than James’s own personal email address.

I know that his many friends and colleagues throughout our sport are thinking of him at this difficult time.

Stan Missen, MRC Chairman

Alan and Christine Laws present new Laws Trophy

Alan and Christine Laws presented the Laws Trophy for the first time at the 2019 National Championships to Tim Pendle of Norwich and Charlie Smith of Leighton Buzzard.

This trophy for the Senior Men’s K2 championship has been renamed in recognition of Alan and Christine’s long service to Marathon and the sport as a whole. Alan stepped down from the MRC following half a century of service last year.

Pictured: Alan Laws, Steve Missen (MRC Chair) and Christine Laws

New BC Club Partnership Grants

British Canoeing’s Talent Pathway team is offering Partnership grants to racing and slalom clubs, in the form of part-funded coaching positions.

The criteria can be found here, and clubs should note that the deadline for application is OCTOBER 23RD.

Please contact Mark Hoile of the Talent Pathway team with any questions.